Ticket #736 (closed defect: fixed)

Opened 11 years ago

Last modified 10 years ago

cluster installer prompts for VG overwrite when installing on a completely empty disk

Reported by: amb Owned by: jdreed
Priority: high Milestone: Natty Beta
Component: installer Keywords:
Cc: Fixed in version:
Upstream bug:  LP:154086

Description

The cluster installer should work unattended, but instead it needs an installer to manually select "Yes". If this option (partman-lvm/confirm_nooverwrite) is set to true, however, installs blow up fatally with a "VG name already in use" error. See  LP:154086.

We might just want to have the cluster installer write a trash partition table out to disk first. We could possibly also punt LVM.

Change History

comment:1 Changed 11 years ago by jdreed

  • Priority changed from low to high
  • Milestone changed from The Distant Future to Natty Beta

This is an issue for the beta, I believe, because the prompt also happens when overwriting an existing cluster machine with the same VG structure. I believe we didn't see it from Jaunty->Lucid because changed the LVM structure? Cluster machines probably shouldn't use LVM anyway. Or I agree, the installer should possible scribble over the partition table after the DESTROYS DESTROYS DESTROYS warning.

comment:2 Changed 10 years ago by jdreed

  • Owner set to jdreed
  • Status changed from new to accepted

I _think_ this is fixed in Natty, in that partman-lvm/confirm_nooverwrite now works (or appears to). I'll note that I tried writing an empty partition table (using partman/early_command and sfdisk), but I still get the confirmation prompt, so I'm slightly confused about what actually causes this and what doesn't.

comment:3 Changed 10 years ago by jdreed

  • Status changed from accepted to committed

This was committed in r25157

comment:4 Changed 10 years ago by jdreed

  • Status changed from committed to closed
  • Resolution set to fixed

This works. I'm not entirely clear why scribbling over the partition table doesn't also remove LVM info. (Where is LVM metadata physically stored on the drive?)

comment:5 Changed 10 years ago by amb

LP #154086 now has an explanation and a hackish workaround for this. The problem is that the old PVs become visible when the "new" disk partitions are created with the same boundaries.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.